Happy Halloween Flan!


I love Fall and of course the first thing we do in Fall is to get ready for Halloween. Don’t you just love Halloween, I know I do – and while normally I don’t do “spooky” things like put out skulls, spiders, witches and scary things (we are now “empty nesters”)….I’m sort of in that kind of mood this year. Don’t get me wrong, I use to decorate for Halloween while I was young with 3 children at home, but that is another story. However, today we use skype with my grandchildren every holiday. They can show me Halloween costumes, and other neat stuff that grandchildren have. We have become virtual Grandparents, thanks to Skype. How cool is that, Huh?

So far we are planning to go to the Village Halloween Parade. As some people may know is definitely one of the best City events. This is a day that people try not to lose their tempers or say cruel things to one another. Anyone who’s lived in this city knows how hard it can sometimes be to love New York. Ahh but alas! New York gets under your skin, like a drug that gets into your blood and posses you forever and ever. Hey, what can I say? Is a love – hate relationship! 😉 Anyhow, I thought some of you might be interested in this recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table. This is a totally different delicious dish that celebrates fall. Want to know more about this annual holiday click here

Pumpkin – Gruyère Flan
Recipe (slightly adapted) from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table
*Zoom*

Ingredients
1 pumpkin, cooked, mashed
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1 Italian bread, thinly sliced and cut into ½-inch chunks (original recipe used stale bread)
½ pound cheese, Gruyère, cut into ½-inch chunks
2 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
4 strips bacon, cooked until crisp, drained, and chopped
About ¼ cup snipped fresh chives or sliced scallions
1 tablespoon minced fresh thyme
About 1/3 cup heavy cream
Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

Instructions
Toss the pumpkin, bread, cheese, garlic, bacon, and herbs together in a bowl. Season with pepper and salt -you probably have enough salt from the bacon and cheese, but taste to be sure. Stir the cream with the nutmeg and pour it into the pumpkin mix. Distribute the filling into lightly oiled ramekins and place them in a baking tray because the pumpkin will have exuded liquid. Bake for about 20 minutes or until everything inside is bubbling and brown. Hello super simple!

Just wanted to wish everyone a safe and happy Halloween weekend!

About zoom50

“It’s amazing how people can get so excited about a rocket to the moon and not give a damn about smog, oil leaks, the devastation of the environment with pesticides, hunger, disease”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Halloween Flan!

  1. akamonsoon says:

    That parade does sound like a lot of fun. I actually found New Yorkers to be more friendly than Bostonians on the few occasions I visited. If someone saw me trying to manoever through the subway they would stop and ask where I was headed. It was a nice experience, especially where I was expecting the opposite.

    That flan looks really yummy! Anything with cheese and bacon together has got to be good!

    • zoom50 says:

      New Yorkers are not exactly rude; maybe some are, but that’s because
      everyone lives a very busy lifestyle.

      OMG!! That was a match made in heaven! Lol 😉 so delish!!

  2. Sora says:

    I love pumpkin and this recipe sounds very yummy. I will have to give it a try!

  3. menese says:

    Yummy…..yummy!

Leave a Reply

