10 Random Things About Me


Hello World! I’ve been tagged by my cyber friend, Monsoon, to post random facts about me, so we can all get to know each other better. Okay, let’s see…

1 – I have been working in a Senior Center as a Cook for over eight years. I can truly say I love my job; I enjoy working with older people. There are so many things that you can learn from them when they share their experiences, and all of the things that they have had to deal with. I have been truly blessed with this rewarding and full filling position. Most of my youngest years, I’ve worked as hairdresser, and then a completely different opportunity came to my life as a cook.

2 – Sunny and Breezy Costa Rica is my hometown and while I haven’t lived there for many years I have lots of fond memories of that beautiful town. I grew up on a dairy farm and had learned how to care for animals and all the responsibilities that come along with that. My first horse’s name was ‘Sombra’ (shadow). I got him when I was about 8 years old. I remember growing up with four sisters and a brother. My relatives still live in the house my grandfather built. I’ve lived in this State most of my life and never had a reason to move. In many ways, it’s because I feel like I cannot escape and something is holding me here.

3 – In my life, I have learnt the hard way; I was married so young against our parent’s very loud objections. We’ve made it through some rough times and are still together. We have had one girl and two boys which we adore very much. I don’t have a degree, masters or PhD of my own. But I feel very proud that I graduated with honors guiding my children to get a good education. My girl and my two boys are all professionals. Good workers and good citizens.

4 – When I was younger, I wanted to become a nurse. I had always like this profession because it is full of adventure and thrills of its own, emotional and physical. I absolutely love to help people. But sadly, that change when I eloped with my husband, and because we had started having family pretty soon my dreams fade away. But I don’t regret it, because my daughter has become a mental health therapist and now she’s working with victims of domestic violence. I believe she realized my dreams in some way. I am very proud of her!

5 – Honestly, I don’t have a religion. It’s not just because I’m an atheist. For me, since a young age, I have always believed in God and nothing else, I have not had any particularly great periods of doubt or hesitation about my faith. What turned me really off once I was in my mid 20’s was that I thought pastors and priest were supposed to be honest, godly, and compassionate. Not sexual predators! How can anyone believe in a church that hides the sins of pedophiles?

6 – I love dogs. I grew up with at least 5 dogs in the family all my childhood. I believe that anyone who is cruel to animals doesn’t deserve to live. I really hate seeing animals that are being abused all over the world and people just stand there and watch. We may be the most intelligent species on the world, but that doesn’t give us the right to harm God’s other creations. If people don’t have the time, energy and the patience to take care of their pets why would they own one? Owning any kind of animals is a long-term emotional and financial commitment.

7 – In my younger and more vulnerable years, I was a hippie. It was hard being an 11-year-old hippie living in a country that was miles away from the real Hippiedom world that had started. I wanted so badly to go to Woodstock, but my mom just said “that’s impossible! You’re crazy little girl” I was so mad with my mom that I remember not talking to her for about a week (silly me). I listened to Creedence Clearwater Revival, Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, Carlos Santana and Janis Joplin. I didn’t wear makeup and I didn’t cut my long hair for years. But I did took showers and brush my teeth. Hahaha. Love and Peace! 🙂

8 – I went to private school (non – catholic), and I played softball for 5 years. I had always played third base and short stop. I still remember the name of my team. They were “las felinas” (the felines) I was proud of my team because we were champions for 3 years in a row. Then in middle school, I played soccer, which was a sport I was good at considering I wasn’t a big fan of it.

9 – Considering my age, I have an embarrassing obsession with Anime and Manga. No – like seriously. I am definitely in love with these comic books. Japanese Manga directors have an incredible imagination. I also love to read Manga series online like Baby, Please Kill Me, Kamen Teacher and Burning Hell. – (Anime and Manga are comic books written and drawn in the Japanese style) –

10 – On weekends, I have to use restraint to avoid being sucked into Lifetime Movie Network. Lifetime is “Television for women.” The majority of these LMN movies are based on how men hurt women, emotionally and even physically. I would lay in bed all day on Sunday and watch one lifetime movie after the next.

Alright, that’s a glimpse into the real me. Thanks for stopping by and letting me tell you a few random things about me. Who shall I tag next? Just one…my Thai cyber friend Bimbalo! (of course, you’re not obligated, my dear friend.) 🙂

About zoom50

“It’s amazing how people can get so excited about a rocket to the moon and not give a damn about smog, oil leaks, the devastation of the environment with pesticides, hunger, disease”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 10 Random Things About Me

  1. kimkiminy says:

    How interesting! Okay, regarding:
    1) Good for you. My mother-in-law is in a senior center, and the staff there are all wonderful. It is a huge relief knowing she is well-taken care of.
    5) Hear, hear!!!
    6) Again, I so agree. There’s good evidence that elephants are just as, if not more, intelligent than humans. They’re certainly less warlike.
    7) How funny. I can just picture you. Did you smoke pot, too? Never mind; don’t answer that! 🙂
    8) I think it’s really important for kids to be athletic in some way, and in a big way.
    9) Ah, so desu? A fellow Nipponophile!

    • kimkiminy says:

      Gah! WordPress converts a numeral eight followed by a close parenthesis into an emoticon! Arggg

    • zoom50 says:

      God Bless all for their wonderful caring hearts. I love to spoil my seniors.
      True that… true that.
      I can honestly say that, I have never once tried marijuana, beer or cigarettes. I’d drink wine or champagne, but only when the social situation demands it. 🙂
      I agree with you, completely. Sports are one of the great ways for kids to build strength and character. Plus will keep them busy and out of trouble.
      Hai watashi wa shinkendesu. I am a dedicated Nipponophile. 😉 I will post my collection someday!

  2. bimbalo says:

    OM(A)G !….10 steps to the iron rule 7…….But I did took showers and brush my teeth. Hahaha.
    not only crazy little girl for your mom…… OM(A)G ! = Oh my (amazing) girl.!

  3. akamonsoon says:

    Thank you Zoom for playing along. I enjoyed reading more about you. It is so very easy to get sucked into those Lifetime movies, isn’t it? Before you know it a whole afternoon is gone. 😉

    • zoom50 says:

      You’re very welcome!
      That’s very true. Time certainly flies when you’re watching a good movie. My motto is, don’t cook on Sundays… get the Chinese menu. 😉

Leave a Reply

