A Mayan Fable

My Dearest and Lovely Dog
There once was a man whose life was so difficult that he was always in a bad mood. As a result, he often mistreated his dog.

Kakasbal (the spirit of evil) who is all around us thought he would be able to take advantage of the dog’s misery. And so he appeared to the dog and said, “What’s wrong? You look sad.”

The dog answered, “How could I not be sad? My master kicks me whenever he wants.”

“I know,” replied Kakasbal, “he is very unhappy. Why don’t you leave him?”

They continued speaking.

“He is my master and I must be loyal.”
“I will help you get away.”
“I will not leave him no matter what.”
“He is never going to be grateful for your loyalty.”
“That makes no difference. I will remain loyal.”

Kakasbal kept insisting. Finally he wore the dog down and just to be rid of his pestering him, the dog agreed.

“What do I need to do?”
“Give me your soul.”
“And what will I get in exchange?”
“Whatever you want.”
“Give me a bone for each hair on my body.”
“Agreed.”
“OK, start counting….”

Kakasbal began counting the hairs on the dog. When he reached the tail, the dog remembered his loyalty towards his master and he jumped, causing the Evil One to lose count.

“Why did you move?” asked Kakaasbal.

“I can’t sit still because of all the fleas that bite me all the time. Start over.”

One hundred times Kakasbal started counting, and one hundred times he was interrupted by the dogs jumping. Finally Kakasbal decided: “I am not counting anymore. You have taught me a lesson. It is easier to buy the soul of a man than it is to buy the soul of a faithful dog.”

(Author unknown)

About zoom50

“It’s amazing how people can get so excited about a rocket to the moon and not give a damn about smog, oil leaks, the devastation of the environment with pesticides, hunger, disease”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Mayan Fable

  1. akamonsoon says:

    Beautiful story Zoom. I hope you are doing okay after your loss. I know how much it hurts. There are times I still tear up when remembering Monsoon who I had to let go of after her illness in April. Time does heal things though.

    • zoom50 says:

      I am trying my best, Monsoon. 😦 The death of a beloved pet is traumatic. Only those who have suffered such a loss can truly know the heartache and pain it produces.
      Thank you for your comment!

  2. I know your pain, I felt it more than once….still thinking about my lovely friends:)

Leave a Reply

